APR or Bells Auto???

bigjode

Feb 25, 2006
I've always been of the opinion that the map comes last. The map will be based on many variables, many of which can be affected by changing engine parts, even if they are only minor bolt-on parts. Now I appreciate that they may only make a tiny difference, but it's a difference none the less.

I'm no mechanic so I'm not for one second going to argue with somebody obviously more clued up than me. But I personally would prefer to know the map I'm getting - assuming we're talking custom here - is based around the exact setup of my engine and related items. Even minor changes can have an affect so I'd personally want it to be as accurate as possible.

I would have been of that opinion myself, but having had "custom" maps on heavily modded cars in the past, I feel qualified to say that a "generic" map can work better.

Don't forget, the ECU is always adjusting, start off with a custom mapped car and with a generic one, then drive for 1000 miles and they would have both adapted.

Why do you think the custom one would have adapted more than the generic one?

What do you think needs to be adjusted on the custom one anyway?

Dodson

Extreme Blue
Feb 9, 2005
Redcar
You're presuming that:

1) there's something wrong with the OE kit you're removing
2) that the resolution / tools used to taylor the map effectively
3) old sk00l tech that didn't have adaptive & clever ECU's

Is this aimed at me mate?

If so can you explain please :shrug: :shrug: thanks

RobM

Back from the dead...
Sep 27, 2006
Southampton
Bigjode - In that case, what's the point in a custom map if it's not to adjust it to the exact setup of your engine? And what's the difference between Stage 1 and Stage 2 maps if they can both adjust to suit whatever changes are made to the car? Surely just save your money and stick with Stage 1 and it will adjust itself?

RobM

Back from the dead...
Sep 27, 2006
Southampton