Windscreen wiper paint

Jul 31, 2024
Hi,

Newbie here. I thought this might be the best place to ask for some advice. I got a Leon Cupra 300 last year, love it to bits but I've noticed some of the paint has started peeling off the Wipers on the passenger side. I didn't notice it when I bought it, though I think it must have always been there.

Its not worth the cost of a new wiper arm (Unless scrap yard maybe, not sure of cost) but I was wondering what paint I could/should use just to touch it up a bit. Whilst I know it won't look like a Pro job, it would improve it to how it looks now.

I dont know what kind of paint to use on that metal, any old black paint do? Any advice welcome and I've attached a picture of it so you can see.

Thanks in advance,

Jim

Attachments

• IMG_20240729_085244.jpg
    IMG_20240729_085244.jpg
    390.3 KB · Views: 62

TheSwede

Oct 20, 2018
Sweden
In Sweden we don't have the same brands as you, but I would take any matt black from a brand you know in a spray can. You don't need to spray it, just spray a little on the lid, (let it dry then it will be thicker) and brush on if it feels better.

Don't buy "Dip vinyl colour" since it's more for temporary use.

RUM4MO

Jun 4, 2008
South Scotland
How about using a Satin Black, Hammerite sell that and just carefully brush paint it using many coats of as little paint as you can - or just buy a spray can version of any Satin Black, most of these black painted parts have a satin finish and not gloss - in my mind gloss would make it look a bit nasty.

Seriously?

Apr 20, 2018
Following - got exactly the same issue in the same place on both wipers on my 19 plate
The same issue on our 2018 ST. I've got a rattlecan of satin black in the garage; just not had a chance to do it. For a proper job the wiper arms need to come off.

Reactions: jim_bob64
Jul 31, 2024