APU head on my LCR!!!!!

Rich23 UK

Slave to my LCR
Sep 15, 2009
Devon
I'm no mechanic so I can only go by advice given to me.

Germania said it was a cracked head I think.

I'm still waiting to hear back from the garage where I bought it. So until I know where I stand with them determines my next step. Tomorrow they said as the MD was out and it's the salesman's day off.

If I hadn't of gone and got the cambelt done I would of been none the wiser. But in a way I'm glad I did.

I rang another company (www.justvwaudi.co.uk) and spoke with a very nice chap. He questioned the work and said it could be running low on power. It does seem to run fine but I don't know what else was changed to get the head to fit.

Even so there is an oil leak and exhaust bracket that needs sorting!

I really don't need the shite right now. I've got a 4 week old baby and spent alot of money for the car I really wanted. I just feel very pi$$ed off right now! :censored:

Rich23 UK

Slave to my LCR
Sep 15, 2009
Devon
Timing belt snapped, headgasket gone and head damaged beyond repair, oil system failure, broken valves?

Mine has an AUQ head on with BAM cam gear, no problem, its usually cheaper alternative as there the same head, just normally amk or bam heads are overpriced due to the car they fit. i wouldent worry about it if it runs ok.

Only diffrence i found on the heads if yo need to blank off the EGR vavle or it sounds like a hotrod lol, took me a hour or two to notice :whistle: Lifters cams valve train is all the same.

The AUQ engine seems fine. Here is a table with all the different engine codes on.

AUQ/ARY:

Audi A3
Audi TT
Seat Leon Cupra
Skoda Octavia RS
VW Bora 1.8T
VW Golf GTi

APU:

Audi A4 1.8T
Audi A6 1.8T
VW Passat 1.8T

just dont be fobed of buy garages saying its the sales men day off & so on thats the oldest trick i in the book mate once is fair enough..

I will wait unto tomorrow morning and then I want some answers.

Last edited:

dirk1978

Mar 25, 2009