Which of these do I need? (Cams)

WeeJase

pert
Jun 2, 2001
bl means you get a new set of cams.
ex means you need to exchange them for your cars cams.

you need to find out what lift and duration they are before parting with money,you also need to know what you want from a set of cams(and don't just say faster). it is always recomended to have the head polished and ported to allow better flow,and to get the cam mapped to get the best from them.

expect to pay about 1000quid for all this and about 180 bhp and and a bit of torque increase.

Last edited:

WeeJase

pert
Jun 2, 2001
the first couple of kits are 264 duration,which is what a few people have used.

the last kit is 278 duration,which may be a bit "peaky" for road application, which will give you a bit of a lumpy idle and to get the best out of it you'll need to rev the ibiza more than you do now.
i must add,i have no real experience other than what i have read on here and seen some of the other 16v ibiza's at trackdays etc.

F2 Stu

I. Am. Legend.
Oct 4, 2001
Crawley, UK
Visit site
Running circa 288's - power kicks in like a sledgehammer at 4k rpm and surges all the way up the rest of the revrange (when it works lol), but mine is far from just head and cam job

the first couple of kits are 264 duration,which is what a few people have used.

the last kit is 278 duration,which may be a bit "peaky" for road application, which will give you a bit of a lumpy idle and to get the best out of it you'll need to rev the ibiza more than you do now.
i must add,i have no real experience other than what i have read on here and seen some of the other 16v ibiza's at trackdays etc.

Right, so from that, I can conclude that I'd be best with the 264 jobbies?

I currently have a filter and exhaust, I've budgeted for the map which will be needed with the addition of the cams, and that's been priced up at £275.