Green Cotton or K&N

tom528

Sorry if this has already been talked about but im rather new to this kind of thing and its my first post.

I’m looking to upgrade my standard air filter from the bog standard to a better performance filter, not really interested in full induction kits.

These two names seem to come up the most but being a novice at this kind of thing I wondered which would be best?

I have read about the K&N being very oily and having problems with the MAF? This went over my head :D

I currently have a Seat Ibiza DAB 100ps 56 plate.

Thanks for any help.

AwesomeSarah

Forum Sponsor
Mar 6, 2006
Hi
The K & N Filters I think is a bit of a Myth
K & N are the market leaders abd have been for many many years , and I am sure they would not be if that was true :confused:
To throw a spanner in the works , have you heard of the Pipercross one?
This is a foam one.
We have these on offer for £28.00 + VAT with FREE postage
I have one on my Fabia PD100 and was great , a bit more sound and also 5mpg gain since it was fitted.
Sarah

simon34

smoooooooth
May 2, 2006
northampton
Most people go for the green filter buti have a k&n in mine and its been fine think the problem comes from over oiling the filters which could happen with either the k&n or green .
Of course there is the pipercross one too and thats a good price

AwesomeSarah

Forum Sponsor
Mar 6, 2006
Most people go for the green filter buti have a k&n in mine and its been fine think the problem comes from over oiling the filters which could happen with either the k&n or green .
Of course there is the pipercross one too and thats a good price

Yes it is a GREAT price [B)] but I dont know how long we can keep this price though
Sarah

sssstew

Editing your spelling
have only heard good things about the green ones. Its the over oiling when people service the k+ns and pipercross that tends to kill the MAF, it covers them in a thin film which they try and burn off but then end up burning out.