To remap or not to remap. That is the question.....

geethoi

Hey guys,
I’m sure there’ve been plenty of topics about this in the past but I’m a bit of a newbie to the forum so I thought I’d ask all you seasoned veterans for your opinions.

As the title will suggest this is all about whether to remap my 1.9 tdi Altea XL or not. The story so far…… I’ve just recently become the (proud) owner of said vehicle. We decided to go for the 105bhp version as it was the most economical (on paper!) As it turns out, it is good on juice but just not as good as they say. And the lack of torque throughout the rev range is very disappointing to say the least.

The last motor was an Audi A4 Avant 1.9 tdi Quattro Sport (130 bhp) This, in complete contrast, had as much grunt as I ever needed, as soon as I put my foot down we were off, an absolute dream to drive. This was probably helped by the fact that I had it remapped to (approx.) 180 bhp by those stand-out fellas at Celtic Tuning.

In fact, the only reason for replacing the A4 with the Altea was that the engine went pop (crankshaft/bearings/flywheel) at around 150k miles. Nearly all the mechanics I spoke pretty much said the same thing, that it was surprising I had an engine failure at such low mileage as the VAG 1.9 tdi engines are usually good for at least 250k.