Q for experienced drivers...

December

Aug 7, 2006
Cluj-Napoca, North Romania
Is it better to run your engine on almost no torque (meaning you change into a higher gear sooner rather than later) or is it better to keep the torque when driving at around 2000rpm (only changing gears when you get too much torque) ?

I got a 81kw Leon with max 4300rpm and since i'm still learning to drive properly i'm not sure what to do.

My father who has been driving for 20 years now says i should change into a higher gear often and not let the engine go above 2000rpm.

Anyway, i thought i'd ask you guys aswell; good day.

m0rk

sarcasm comes free
Staff member
May 19, 2001
Clanfield, UK
You shouldn't labour the engine - that's key. also you should try not to rev it, but if you 'have' to - make sure the engine is up to temperature.

D3DNA

May 14, 2006
Cov
Best advice is to keep driving, you will pick up the engines likes and dislikes based on the way you drive.
To elaborate on what m0rk says getting to the highest gear (short shifting) will help save fuel but tackling hills, inclines, or laden will have a detremental effect to the performance and can hurt the engine. Again if you red-line in each gear you will also tend to wear out parts a lot quicker as you are taking them closer to there maximum tolerances. Anywhere in between should be safe.

ChrisUK

Eat My Smoke
Oct 20, 2004
Liverpool, UK
Carpathians Dad said:
change into a higher gear often and not let the engine go above 2000rpm.

Erm..why ?

Obviously this would save on fuel, but to NEVER let it go above 2k rpm is beyond me.

When I'm driving around town taking it easy, I normally change around 2k as I'm plodding about, but on motorway driving, accellerating on a slip road, going up an incline etc, it's healthy for you to go to whatever rpm is needed to get you to where you need to be.